Project Credits

IRSHDC Sponsors
Linc Kesler, Director of First Nations House of Learning | Senior Advisor to the President on Aboriginal Affairs
Debra Martel, Associate Director, First Nations House of Learning


IRSHDC Collections Team
Elizabeth Shaffer, Associate Director, Data & Curation
Sarah King, Researcher
Allison Mills, Researcher
Naomi Lloyd, Metadata Consultant
Marisa Parker, Digital Archivist
Rachel Bergquist, Collections Assistant
Caitlin Donaldson, CA System Administrator
Maryann Amor, Data Specialist
Anne Lindsay, Content Specialist/Advisor


The IRSHDC wishes to thank the collections, subject and system experts who were consulted in the course of this project: Ann Stevenson, Gerald Lawson, Pam Brown, Katie Ferrante, Nancy Bruegeman and Alissa Cherry (Museum of Anthropology), Lisa Nathan and Luanne Freund (UBC iSchool), Kim Lawson, Sarah Dupont, Lea Starr, Ann Doyle and Tamis Cochran (Xwi7xwa Library), Ann Olsen (Walter C. Koerner Library), Ursula Ellis (UBC Woodward Library), Amy Perreault and Janey Lew (UBC Centre for Teaching and Learning), Kevin Ward and Paras Deacon (First Nations House of Learning), Blair Galston (United Church of Canada BC Archives), Laura Hallman (United Church of Canada Archives), Daniel Heath Justice, Sheryl Lightfoot, David Gaertner, Dory Nason, Sarah Hunt (First Nations and Indigenous Studies, UBC), Rima Wilkes (Sociology, UBC), Cindy Thom-Lindley, Angela White, Vera Jones, Sam George, Jeremy Jones (Indian Residential School Survivor Society), Constance Brissenden (Author/Educator), Shelly Rosenblum, Lorna Brown, Jordan Wilson, Owen Sopotiuk, Shaunna Moore and Naomi Sawada (Helen and Morris Belkin Art Gallery), Geoffrey Carr (University of the Fraser Valley), Adina Williams (UBC), Teresa Edwards, Jane Hubband, Irene Goodwin (Legacy of Hope Foundation), Krista McCracken (Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre at Algoma University), FNIS 454 students, Kirk MacDonald, Octavian Jurca, Meghna Srinath-Kanakagiri, Shaun Woodruff, Tomasz Konefal, Gary Khoo, Chris Leung, Chris Crada, and Joey Wisniowski (UBC Audio Visual and Information Technology), Johanna Smith, Benjamin Ellis, Sarah Hurford and Marc Houle (Library and Archives Canada), Tricia Logan, Raymond Frogner, Jesse Boiteau and Jarad Buckwold (National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation), Wendy Power (copy editor), UBC iSchool and First Nations Concentration students, Chris Hives and Alan Doyle (UBC Archives), Susan Parker, Lea Starr and Alan Bell (UBC Libraries) and Senior Leadership at UBC Information Technology), John Bass (UBC School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture), Melanie Delva (Anglican Church of Canada), Barney Williams Jr. (NCTR Survivor Circle Member) and Grand Chief Ed John. 

The IRSHDC gratefully acknowledges the contributions of Shannon Cheng, Sarah Miller, Liz Otero, Sam Mickelson, Stephanie Salvaterra, Claire Williams, and Tarek Haji.

This site was developed in collaboration with the team at Whirl-i-Gig using a custom configuration of CollectiveAccess, an open-source collections management and presentation software.

Project Partners

The IRSHDC gratefully acknowledges the contributions of our collaborators and partners who have contributed data, records and expertise to this project.

Indian Residential School Survivors Society
United Church of Canada British Columbia Conference Archives
United Church of Canada Archives
Xwi7xwa Library, University of British Columbia
Museum of Anthropology
Library and Archives Canada
UBC Archives
Irving K. Barber Learning Centre
Walter C. Koerner Library
Legacy of Hope Foundation
National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation
Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery
Vancouver School of Theology
UBC Centre for Teaching and Learning Technology
School of Library, Archival and Information Studies, iSchool at UBC
Vancouver Holocaust Education Centre